Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • Article Image Alt Text

The Search for a New Chief of Police Begins

“Public safety is my administration’s top priority,” Mayor Perkins said.

After 27 years of service, Police Chief Alan Crump has officially retired from the Shreveport Police Department effective immediately. Provisional Chief of Police, Ben Raymond, will continue to serve in that role until Mayor Adrian Perkins names a permanent replacement.
Today, applicants take the Civil Service exam required to be appointed Chief of Police under Louisiana law. Applicants must score a 75 or better to be considered for the post. There are seven candidates for Chief of Police: Sergeant Michael Carter, Lieutenant Janice Dailey, Corporal Jason Frazier, Chief Benjamin Raymond, Lieutenant Tedris Smith, Assistant Chief of Police Wayne Smith, and Sergeant Kevin Strickland.
Mayor Perkins has established an eight-person advisory team comprised of law enforcement experts, attorneys, and city leaders to review each qualified candidate and to make a recommendation to the Mayor. The advisory team consists of:
- Steve Prator, Caddo Parish Sheriff
- James Stewart, Caddo Parish District Attorney
- Victor Jones, Natchitoches Parish Sheriff
- Laurie Lyons, Civil Rights Attorney
- Ron Miciotto, Criminal Defense Attorney
- E.J. Lewis, retired SPD Assistant Chief
- Jim Taliaferro, Retired Police Officer and Former Crime Stoppers Director
- Jerry Bowman, Shreveport City Council Chairman
Mayor Perkins is looking for a candidate that is 100 percent committed to making Shreveport safer.
“Public safety is my administration’s top priority,” Mayor Perkins said. “The next Police Chief must be committed to and capable of implementing community-oriented policing strategies.”

The Inquisitor

1915 Citizens Bank Drive
Bossier City, LA. 71111
(318) 929-5152